January’s Featured Blogger: Philippa from Sounding Like My Mother

Hello readers!

I’ve been thinking about new ways to develop my blog and thought a good way would be to connect with other bloggers. I thought a ‘Featured Blogger’ once a month would be a nice way to promote others blogs and share blogs that I enjoy reading.

So for my very first Featured Blogger post, I would like to introduce Philippa from Sounding Like My Mother.

 

Facebookcover

She’s a friendly and helpful blogger who writes from the heart and truthfully about the trials of motherhood to five, yes FIVE, children. In my opinion, anyone who mothers five children deserves a medal! She’s been featured on Mumsnet, Netmums and Britmums so I suppose being featured on my little blog isn’t that much of an achievement but it is for me to have her – I feel very privileged!

One of my favourite posts she has recently written was this one: Music to Parent To. Hilarious and totally true! Make sure you check out her Twitter and Facebook pages! 🙂

So here it is, my first interview with a Featured Blogger!

IMG_0801.JPG

1) Tell me a little about your family…
There are seven of us! Me, my husband, teen boy (15), teen girl (13), preteen boy (10), and my girl/boy twins (6). It’s a bit hectic here as you can imagine.

We live in Cheshire which is not where I grew up, but as I’ve been here for 20 years now I don’t think I could ever imagine leaving.

2) What are the main themes of your blog? 
Moaning about the school run/teenagers/twins. Just kidding. It’s a family blog where I try to capture some of the things that happen with the kids as they grow (which is happening far too quickly if you ask me). Some of it is very light hearted – my main aim is to make other mums and dads nod along in agreement and laugh a bit.

3) Why did you begin blogging? 
No idea really! I’ve always read other blogs and thought it seemed like a good idea at the time. Until about 12 months ago I was a very half-hearted blogger, but now I just don’t feel right unless I’ve blogged at least once in a week. It sort of keeps my head straight and makes me feel better when I have.

4)What’s your favourite thing about blogging?
The community mainly. I wrote a post about that here http://soundinglikemymother.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/the-ten-stages-of-going-to-blogging.html too. I also love it when someone says they’ve enjoyed a post I’ve written. Makes it seem a little less like I’m talking to myself.

5) What is your favourite book and why?
I don’t really have a favourite, which is a bit of a rubbish answer really. I did my degree in English, so I should have a favourite but there are too many to choose from! One thing I’ve decided to do next year is to visit the Library more and read more too – I honestly can’t remember the last time I picked up a book. Now that the children are all at school I should have a bit more time for reading but it never seems to work out that way. I am going to change this.

6) Who is your hero?
My Dad. He died nearly four years ago and I really miss him. We didn’t always see eye to eye when I was growing up but it’s only when someone is no longer there that you realise what a positive influence they had on your life (and the gap they leave). I hope my kids feel the same about me one day.

7) If you could meet one person, dead or alive, who would it be?
Only one? My husband and I have a list of fantasy dinner party guests largely comprising of Bruce Springsteen and various members of U2 and the Foo Fighters. These are very celebrity based answers I know, but I’m a bit of a lightweight like that 😉

8) Are you a working Mum or SATM? How do you find it? 
Stay at Home Mum. On the whole I really like it. I would like to return to work but its tricky with five children and finding something that fits in with that. I do like being at home though – nobody believes that I frequently run out of time because I’m so busy, but it is true!

9) Tell me a favourite moment you’ve shared with your child/children.
Lots (as there are lots of them ;)). Rather than a specific moment I could pick a group of moments, which would be all the times people have stopped me and complemented me on my children. I think people think that as there are lots of them, they can’t possibly be anything other than badly behaved and unruly, so its rather nice when they are recognised for being lovely and polite (which they are, obviously – it’s the way their parents bring them up!) 🙂

10) What one piece of parenting advice do you treasure most? 
Don’t ever listen to parenting advice.
Good advice really. I’m a great believer in doing things your own way.

IMG_0802

Happy Birthday – bash! Ha ha!

Massive thanks to Philippa for being my very first Featured Blogger at Educating Roversi. Please make sure you pay her a visit if you haven’t already.

What do you think of my new feature? Would you like to be one of my Featured Bloggers? Contact me on Facebook or Twitter 🙂

The Secret Diary of Agent Spitback

About Becky Roversi

Previously the writer of Educating Roversi, Becka is a 30 something Mum to two and has an addiction to mugs, Disney, pyjamas & stationery. Welcome to the Bubble!
This entry was posted in All Posts, Featured Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to January’s Featured Blogger: Philippa from Sounding Like My Mother

  1. Pingback: Introducing…

  2. Pingback: December’s Featured Blogger: Emma from BrummyMummy of 2! |

  3. agentspitback says:

    Lovely interview! Thanks for introducing Philippa and her blog! Thanks for sharing with #abitofeverything…PS Don’t ever listen to parenting advice — LOL

    Like

  4. Love this!

    I agree with the no one believing you’re so busy. I once had a friend call and say they decided to call me because they figured I *of course* wasn’t doing anything, then talked for an hour. I was so upset! Now I don’t answer their phone calls haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think and leave a reply!