Pregnancy Diaries – Positive Distractions

FAIRY-2Tuesday 11th April and I’m sat at the dining room table in my house, alone. My husband is back at work after nine days off, my son is at nursery and I am SUPPOSE to be spending the day working so that I don’t have to do any during the rest of the Easter holidays.

But I can’t concentrate, I am distracted by my phone, my blog, the TV, putting the washing away…anything but writing feedback for my Year 8 classes or making the PSHCRE assessments for Year 8 and 9. Oh, and there’s the planning I need to do.

This distraction is not unusual for me. I struggle to motivate myself and work at home, especially in the holidays, and right now I have other opportunities when I could work instead of now. I know that I SHOULD work now because then I won’t have to stay late at work on Tuesday and Friday next week, or work on an evening which I hate doing, but currently I can’t concentrate because I am thinking about this…

IMG_4685

Yep, Baby Roversi number 2 is on its way! Currently I’m not getting too excited because it is still VERY early and a lot can happen before then. Obviously I’m writing this post but I will not be publishing it until after I have had a scan and we know everything is okay however I didn’t get to document all of Little L’s pregnancy, so it will be nice to be able to blog about this one.

I had a thought I might be while we were away in PrestHaven. I was achy, my boobs were tingley and I was tired but I knew it was too early to know for definite so I held off on doing a test, plus mIMG_4684-1y period wasn’t due till the Monday after we were back (yesterday). I’ve been off the pill since the beginning of March with the attitude of “If it happens, it happens”, we’ve been lucky. It’s almost too good to be true, which is why I’m remaining calm for now. I did a test last Friday but it was negative and I knew it would be…too early before my period then, after a day at Stockeld Park yesterday and no sign of the monthly devil appearing, I decided to pick up another test (just a cheap one) and did it this morning (see left). I don’t know about you but I don’t trust that little line, I have to see ‘PREGNANT’ so, just like I did three and a bit years ago, I asked my husband not to get excited but to pop to the chemist for a digital one. I thought about waiting till the following morning but then I read the leaflet that said that if it was after the time of your expected period, you could test at any point in the day. As you can see, it confirmed it!

To be honest, this post is helping me organise the thoughts going around in my mind:

  • How will L feel about being a big brother?
  • Finances – I only work three days now and maternity leave is rubbish!
  • What do I do about my night out in two weeks I’m suppose to be going on?!

These are to name a few. According to my calculates (and a few helpful websites/apps), I am due on the 20th December 2017 and will be 4 weeks tomorrow (12-04-2017).

I’d like to wait till 6 weeks before I tell anyone at all. I know the general opinion is that you shouldn’t tell anyone till 12 weeks and after your scan however my thoughts have always been “Tell the people you would want support from, should anything happen.” therefore I will tell a few people I’m closest to in a couple of weeks I think. Little L and I go to Whitby for a few days with my Mum and John as I’m 6 weeks so it’ll be nice to tell them then.

So how am I feeling? Pretty normal I guess. I’ve been sleeping well and no sickness yet, although my app says that doesn’t kick in till 6 weeks. I didn’t suffer from much sickness with L so it’ll be interesting to see if I do this time. I’ve been getting aches at the bottom of my back and in my hips and my boobs are achy and don’t like my bras at the moment! 🙂 Strange isn’t it? That all these things are happening to my body and yet, it’s not even a baby yet!

According to my App, “the sperm has met the egg and you have conceived”, it’s not even as big as a Peanut yet (the nickname of Little L pre-birth) but obviously my husband is super happy and telling himself he has “super sperm” (sorry TMI?). I guess all I have to do is take it easy and hope that the little dot gets comfy in my uterus and sticks there…fingers crossed ey?

IMG_4522

Family of 3 to become 4.

Educating Roversi-8

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

About Becky Roversi

Previously the writer of Educating Roversi, Becka is a 30 something Mum to two and has an addiction to mugs, Disney, pyjamas & stationery. Welcome to the Bubble!
This entry was posted in All Posts, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pregnancy Diaries – Positive Distractions

  1. congrats – hope you aren’t feeling too poorly! I did SO many tests this time just to confirm, and my entire pregnancy feels like one big distraction! I have 5 weeks left until due date now and def finding this pregnancy harder than the last. Arthur was due at a similar time to your second – i was supposed to have him on 23rd Dec but he didnt arrive until 7th Jan after (finally) being induced…I think a third trimester in winter is definitely easier than this heatwave weather now! oh and you dont have to worry about trying to shave your legs so much lol #kcacols

    Liked by 1 person

  2. aw congrats and good luck. I’d be thinking about planned nights out too as people always get suspicious if im not having a wine lol! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy Fox says:

    Congratulations lovely! I’m so like you with all of that! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! Very excited for you. And if it helps, my wife did four tests before she even told me.#kcacols

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Pregnancy Diaries: Sleeping Beauty |

Let me know what you think and leave a reply!